top of page

longing to disappear


John Janaro, associate professor emeritus of theology at Christendom College, writes about Thomas Merton, and his great conversion story, in the December issue of The Magnificat. After entering a monastic community that was known for its silence, John writes this of Thomas Merton:

"He let go of all his ambition for literary fame, longing to disappear into the silence of God."

As I have said before, I am not the biggest fan of winter, and yet, it is the only season that will gift me with a day that allows me to abandon the daily demands that attempt to drown me, so that I can walk slowly in the silence I so often struggle to hear. And I, too, like Thomas, long to disappear.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page