top of page

for the weary

"You do it right, ya' know? You don't pick up and examen every piece of pork, you just take it. Some people take forever to choose, and I'm like..it is all the same pig! Geez, people. But you ...you do it right."

My deli guy. I just love him. His smile is infectious, he always says hello, and for me, who truly hates grocery shopping, seeing him working always lifts my spirits and changes my attitude, because I know that he will engage me in good conversation, and have something positive to say to send me on my way . Always.

Except for yesterday.

"I know it is bad to say, but man, I just can't wait until this whole holiday is just over." He was re-stocking the lunch meat, on his knees, avoiding eye contact, without his usual smile. "This place is crazy, and I mean...for what? It is not like I get to go to people's houses and see their dinners. Enough already. I just want this holiday to come and go so it can all be DONE. Ya know what I am saying?"

My sweet weary deli guy. He has no idea how much his work matters. He does not see the fruits of his laboring. And where he comes from and where he goes to after his work is done, I have no idea. I love him, and I enjoy him, but I do not know his story at all. But yesterday, it was very clear. He is weary.

And I get it. I, too, have been weary. I, too, am weary. I, too, would love to see how my laboring in the home, in the schools, at the church hall, or on bended knees with cheeks stained with tears, makes any difference at all. And how many Christmas mornings have I cleaned up the wrapping, and put away the left overs, and dreaded the credit card bills to come, feeling like still, something was missing; like somehow, I missed the whole point. This time of year, how many of us are left feeling like there is just too much laboring, and not enough fruit? How many of us are weary?

And if it were not for grace, I, too, might be wishing this whole holiday away.

And if it were not for hope, I too, might have forgotten that this is more than a holiday we are awaiting.

"I know...I hear ya", I said to my deli guy as I reached for the expensive ham I do not normally buy, but frankly, I was thrown by his change in mood, and so I reached for what was right in front of me. "But ya' know, when the holiday is over, and it will be soon enough, I pray that you will get to finally rest and enjoy the reason for all of your laboring. The great thing about the holiday as the world celebrates it, is that when it is over, it finally allows for Christmas to begin. Once the noise quiets down, you will hear and remember the meaning of it all." And then I grabbed the expensive turkey. Because why not.

For all those who are weary, you are not alone.

And for all those who have hope, please share it.

Share it with your spouse, your children your mailman, your kid's teacher, your neighbor, your police man, your librarian, your Pastor, your mother, your father, your sister and brother, your enemy. And most of all, your deli man. Let them know that their laboring matters. Remind them that this world might be pressing down on us, reducing Christ's birth to a mere holiday to come and go and be done with, but we know better. Remind them that when all of this useless hustle and bustle is over, Christmas is still here.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page