top of page

family prayer time and Norwegian salmon

I was given really clear signs last week, that all told me one thing: pray as a family. I saw a good opportunity to bring this idea up to the children, and for the record, "good opportunity" means I had three of four kids in my sight, and only one was on their phone.

The oldest, was making breakfast.

And so I took a deep breath and I prayed that the Holy Spirit be with me.

"Hey guys, I think we need to pray as a family. How about once a week we all pray the Hail Mary together?" I figured baby steps, right? Because the last time Annie was held hostage in the car while Nick and I prayed the rosary outloud, I thought she would choke herself to death with the seat belt out of boredom, or fling herself head first out the window and onto I84. No one really responded, so I made it clear, "Just one Hail Mary, ok? Not the whole rosary and not every night. Just one Hail Mary, one night a week....I think it is important, don't you?"

"No, I think we are good." my oldest assured me, as he spread cream cheese on his bagel.

(oh Lord, we are not good....)

"Really?" was the brilliant reply I came up with.

"Well, I think we should because..." and before I could finish, my oldest interrupted, 'is this salmon Norwegian?"

We never said that Hail Mary. But yes, thank God, the salmon was Norwegian.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page