top of page

another day


In case you saw me at the 6:45 am Mass this morning and wondered to yourself, "Did she sleep in what she is wearing???", the answer is, "Yes. Yes, I did sleep in what I was wearing."

The great thing about my wardrobe, is that it is so versatile. I can wear the same thing to the grocery store, Mass, TJ Max, and for a long walk with the dogs. Then, I can sleep in it.

And while on that dog walk after mass this morning, as I took in the beauty (because you are able to do that so much better you know-take in the beauty--after participating in the holy Mass) I recalled my sister once saying, "People spend so much time looking for new life...going into space---when all you have to do is pick up a rock! Underneath it is teeming with life!"

On a walk to the end of my street and back, I saw llamas, turkeys, dogs, turtles, people, water, the sky and sun, clouds, trees, and more plant life than I could ever name...except for the poison ivy. Because once you encounter poison ivy, you remember what it looks like and how it makes you feel. Sort of like Jesus.

And it is just so true, isn't it?

This beauty...no matter what this current state of life looks like...is all here.

Doesn't matter if you are rich or poor.

Doesn't matter if you dress beautifully or wear what you just slept in.

This life is beautiful.

And we don't have to go searching for it.

It is right here.

I think we have lost our sense of awe and wonder.

I really do.

I think we are staring beauty and miracles in the face, but don't

see it, because we are convinced it is in the way, blocking what we are really after.

And the sun.

How it rises each and every morning, so glorious, so amazing.

And we roll out of bed and think to ourselves, "Welp, it's another day."

And then scroll through our phone, searching for our joy, hoping we will set our eyes on something wonderful that changes everything.

Yes. It is another day.

One we are not worthy of.

One, we so often, do not deserve.

How about today, you take a walk in what you slept in and see for yourself, just how beautiful life really is.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page