top of page

battling discontentment and forgetting who you are


Can we talk about a few things for just a second? Because a second is all I have. But sometimes, a second is all you need.

(it was either sit down and share my morning thoughts, or create a "contemporary kitchen designs board" on Pinterest. Oh, the way we choose to spend our time....)

Between my Walking With Purpose study, and my participation in Who am I to Judge, there has been a common theme that keeps popping up and it is this: what kind of legacy do you want to leave?

And I do not think anyone hopes to be remembered as really good looking. Or having a great body. Or making a lot of money. Or sticking to a restricted diet. Or having the cleanest home.

But I also think there is no way on earth we can even begin to answer this, until we ask ourselves...who am I? right now, who am I?

Because when I did not know who I was, sin had no consequences, and God really didn't know best, and I was so clearly meant for more.

And the only part of the entire sentence that holds any truth at all is this: "I was so clearly meant for more."

The problem? With my eyes off of God and on to everything and anything shiny and pretty that I did not have but so desperately wanted....the "MORE" I was in search of was a LIE. The "MORE" that I truly believed would make me happy, and satisfied, was a TRICK.

(think Genesis ...Eve...the apple....)

Because being meant for more has nothing to do about more for ME and everything to do with more of HIM.

And praise God for the rescue and the undeserved grace, because I get that now.

And praise God for his continued mercy, because even now, I still battle discontentment. I still battle with the lie. I still battle with the world and its message that what I do, and what I have and what I accomplish is WHO I AM.

Have you forgotten who you are?

Do you know and believe that you are a beloved daughter of God?

That you were made in HIS image?

That you have all that you need?

If you are searching for MORE...do not look out into the world to provide you with the satisfaction and peace your heart desires. Because it is not there. I know. I looked. I saw. And then...I regretted.

And being left with regret is no small thing, and forgetting who you are and whose you are is a one way ticket to a life destined to death.

Eve had a full garden of everything she needed, but rather than look at what she HAD, she looked at what she was told she could NOT HAVE.

And so before I jump off of here and get this day rolling, I wonder if it would help us all to think about this as we journey through out this day. Where do we go for our MORE? And have we taken our focus off of God, and replaced it with looking at things we do not have?

Yes. You ARE meant for more.

But remember who you are before you head out in search for that MORE.

Because MORE is not something you purchase, or earn.

More is Jesus...who is so much more than the temporary idols we wake up and grasp for.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page