top of page

when everything shuts down


I am so not a fan of winter.

The cold.

The snow.

The inconvenience.

I hate it all.

And yet while walking the dog through the storm I was reminded of the one thing that I love about a winter storm. The quiet. The absolute quiet that is a result of everything shutting down.

Which is interesting...because I usually fear that shutting down. I fear the storm that is so to the bone rattling, that everything inside of you goes blank. Have you ever been there? In a storm so raging, you can barely remember who you are anymore? You can not focus on a single thing because nothing makes sense?

But the quiet. It is there. In the midst of the storm. And it is beautiful, isn't it?

And so I walked through the snow that I hate and I looked to the grey sky that screamed of weariness and I thanked the Lord for this necessary season that is not my favorite. And I thanked Him for the unruly dog that needed walking and joyfully ran through the drifts and inches of cold. And I praised Him for this freezing and brutal stripping of everything warm and comfortable, because without it, I might forget how good even just one second free from a storm is. Without it, I might have missed out on the peace that is possible, the peace that is there, as the winds blow and the storm rages on.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page