top of page

from now on

I sat at the end of the driveway with my son as we waited for the school bus. He picked up my phone and hit play, and From Now On, from The Greatest Showman began. We sang it loud together, messing up lots because we are still learning the lyrics.

"It's about finding Jesus, you know," I told him.

There was a lot we could have talked about this morning, but we didn't speak at all. Only sang. About colorful dreams, bright lights, big tents, making the world beautiful, and losing every empty promise this world offers us. About reaching out to the hurting and lonely, those who do not fit in and giving them a home.

I promised to stop singing and dancing when the bus came. And I did. Then I watched my colorful dreamer take his seat and ride away.

(But) whatever gains I had, these I have come to consider a loss 7 because of Christ.

8

More than that, I even consider everything as a loss because of the supreme good of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.

-Phil 3"7-8

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page