top of page

dried mangos, slacking this Lent, and why we drive a car that won't go in reverse


I can't decide if I am totally slacking this Lent or if I am making some super human strides towards Sainthood.

I began with a stack of devotionals, journals, books, and prayers in my prayer corner, and truthfully? Many have not been opened in over a week. But I AM rocking the morning coffee consumption.

But I think I am being called to simplicity. Into quiet reflection. Into choosing one practice, and doing it well. At least that is what I am telling my slacker self. I also think God is asking me to get down to business. To stop talking about wanting and accepting his will and to actually want and accept it.

He is also calling me to eat an entire bag of Organic dried mangos as I write this morning. Seriously? So good.

This Lent has also been a busy work time for both myself and my husband, which I am grateful for, despite the fact that most of the day I fear my head might roll off of my shoulders.

Has anyone seen the movie Wonder? I cried for a solid two hours. In all fairness, I walked into the theatre crying. So ya know, there's that.

Hopefully you have noticed my new look over here which I loooove. The name Wildflower, which I also looooove, has been replaced by my own name. Because...my name is not Wildflower. I am sure someone out there has the name Wildflower, right? That would be a cool name. Like Apple. Or Moses. Or Moonshine. Or North. Or Linda.

A big should out to my dear, sweet, young and super talented friend Jaimee Keogler at The Catholic Box for making this space so beautiful--for knowing what I love, and creating it faster than I can make dinner. Although I don't make dinner. So that is a poor analogy. Take a look around..she added all sorts of beautiful things, from a Book page to my Speaking page...two incredible blessings and fruits that thanks to YOU have been presented to me. I love to write and I love to talk and I love to write like I talk...so seems like a good fit for me. And I am grateful.

Did you know that we drive a car that only drives forward? Seriously. No reverse. I'd like to think it is a beautiful metaphor for "not looking back, always pushing forward." Instead of, "we are too poor to fix the car."

My mini van has had one dirty sock on the floor of the front passenger seat since before Christmas. You might think we are slobs, but all I can say is when I couldn't see out of my filthy back window, that sock came in very handy.

Clearly I have nothing to say this morning. I mean, I could write pages on suffering and the importance of hope....but honestly? I'd rather finish off the mangos. The suffering is always there. But the mangos, not so much.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page