top of page

someone please take the jelly beans away from me. and the devil is real. hello Friday.


First of all? The devil is real.

Second of all? I have been eating way too many jelly beans.

And third of all? What's up with the static in my hair?

Oh sweet friends, is it just me, or is the enemy having a super fun time with all of us who were so determined to have the best Lent ever? Honestly. My promise to enter into Holy Week with a whole heart turned into the promise of entering Holy Week with an empty bag of jelly beans and a second glass of wine. Not to mention...all that frustration.

However.

It is not over.

And here is what I love about myself, and by love I mean hate. Why do I miss His grace every single time? The text from a friend pointing me to Scripture. Needed Scripture. And I scroll through it on to the next. The smile or kind words from a stranger and I move on thinking, "yeah yeah that was nice, whatever." The good news that we have been waiting for and I cheer for a moment only to let it be buried in seconds flat by the next problem. The season that feels lonely and dry and well, um, hello...it IS Lent and so why do I not embrace it instead of allowing my envy to boil up and spill over when I see pictures of people on vacation and I here I am, in the cold house with a bag of jelly beans and everyone home again because don't even get me started on the fact that we cancelled school for snow that never happened.

Me thinks it is time to dust off that "gratitude journal", start building my prayer closet, and stop eating jelly beans. Please come and take the jelly beans away. But don't you dare touch that wine. It's Friday, after all.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page