top of page

growing seeds, paying attention, using your time wisely and more about the Lions. A longer post than


While some see everyday encounters - with words, people, situations - as mere, coincidence...

I see the hand of God.

And so this giant week of back to school, back to the grind, back on track, while the Church appears to be losing its wheels and falling off of Her track...I am shocked and yet so not shocked, by the Scripture verses that are popping up and slapping me in the face (Eph 5:11)...by the amazing trio of Feast Day celebrations...Saint Monica, Saint Augustine, and today, Saint John the Baptist...and the unexpected ways God has used people in my life to be His hands and feet, to speak truth and life and light into my heart....to give needed encouragement and support and a listening ear...at the perfect time.

There are no coincidences, sweet friends.

And so I am back to my early rising - because this summer I needed to sleep and well, maybe perhaps even hide - but I feel charged now with great tasks and projects and needed to be whispered prayers...and I have always found that the hours just before the sun and children and dogs rise - these are the best. The best for praying, writing, thinking, dreaming, planning, and mainly listening...to that still, small voice, that has BIG plans for each of us.

You know when a thought crosses your mind...it could be anything...maybe an idea for a way to make extra cash, or a fun theme for your child's birthday party, or the desire to plan a date with your husband, or a vision of a family vacation you are desperate to make happen, or a way to give back to a charity or person or organization that is of special meaning to you, or a new way to pray, or an invitation to get friends together...whatever it is...I firmly believe that this thought, this dream, this great idea...it does not come from us. It is planted by the Holy Spirit. But guess what? When we let it come and go, when we do not take this thought to prayer, when we do not get up early, or stay up late, or do whatever we can to carve out that quiet alone time with nothing but our hearts and our silenced minds and the presence of God....we miss it. The seed dies. Nothing grows. We bear no fruit.

I want today ...this day, this week, this month...yes, I know...this is like, the busiest month for all of us right?...yeah, well whatever...I still want this moment right now to be the moment we pay attention to the "coincidences" and we wake up to the thoughts and ideas and dreams for ourselves and our loved ones, that we have grown accustomed to letting come and go....and I want us to grab hold of them. To take them to prayer. To intentionally carve out quiet and stillness so we can hear what God is asking us to do with it all. Can we do this?

If you need to play Kelly Clarkson's A Moment Like This for inspiration, by all means, go for it.

Because here is the thing about being too busy to respond to these spirit filled moments.

It is stupid.

Look, we all get the same hours in a day, right?

No one gets a few hours more.

So, what are you doing with all of those hours???

Why do we have no time?

Why are we crazy busy?

Why are some people capable of managing a company, and raising 40 children, and traveling the world, and still finding the time to make dinner, shower, walk the dog, shave their legs, and date their spouse?

And don't say, "they have help."

Because that is my line.

But really...maybe they do have help...whatever...we can still find a way...without the nanny and housekeeper, we can let some things go to make room for more important things. We can not shave our legs and still be okay. Hairy. But okay. I believe this.

Truth is? I am hairy. I also actually work better when I have too much to do.

I do not believe there are ever too many projects on the table...providing these projects have eternal value. I have seen people get lots of things done in little time, and I have seen people get little done in lots of time.

I think we just need to re-evaluate what our priorities are and how are we truly using our God given time. Because remember. It is His time that He gifts us with. And we have no idea when our time will run out.

I think we also need to do a heart check every now and then and ask if what we are chasing is something the Lord is asking us to chase...is this idea or dream for His glory, or simply our own?

There is plenty of encouragement out there for women, from building your dream to being in control of your life to getting in perfect physical condition...it is all out there ready for your consuming. But much of it misses the mark. Much of it fails to include God's role in your life, and your role in His story.

If we want to achieve great things, we have to do it with and for God and always, in His time.

But it has to start with intentional stillness.

The Lion post yesterday was a result of just this. Carving out the time to respond to an idea that would not go away. An idea that at first, I said I had no time to act on. Like a Lion, it continued to prowl and circle me until I finally noticed.

And it inspired many of you to send me an e mail...to reach out and say thank you...and that. is. everything. to a writer...an honest writer...who overshares and tells it all because she believes and knows that she is not alone in her suffering...that there are many women out there with a similar story. The Lion image (and yes. I capitalize Lion...not sure why...but I keep doing it) was first planted in my head through the powerful Fearless and Free talk by Author, Speaker and dearest friend ever Lisa Brenninkmeyer...but I won't share the story with you...you will have to do the study and listen to it yourself because it is better coming from her. Then there's this song...that for whatever reason, has been in my head for months...and then there's the Lion tattoo my son and I were thinking about...and then there was this sweet charm from Pink Salt Riot that appeared in my Instagram feed and I am seriously debating purchasing because I mean, come on...how can I not?...and then there was Ezekiel 19:2-3, and finally, the last hit over the head...Saint Augustine's famous quote yesterday....“The truth is like a lion. You don't have to defend it. Let it loose. It will defend itself.”

Lots of Lions have been placed on my mind.

And placed on my heart? Lots of suffering women around me who need to know that through prayer, and the Sacraments, and community, they can have Lion strength...they can persevere...they can endure. That even in the midst of great crisis and turmoil, we can still achieve our dreams, we can still do good work, we do not have to give up on our very selves and relationships because waves are crashing over us.

Because you want to know what I believe to be true? I think we are all so overwhelmed and sideswiped by life and all the things...that with the enemy's tempting, we set our dreams aside because we do not think we are in any condition to follow through. Not now. Maybe when the present crisis is resolved. Maybe when relationships are restored. Maybe when we have the money or time. Maybe when we are not completely insane and crying constantly. Maybe when we are not so hairy. Maybe...later. Not now. Not with life as it is. No way.

What a lie. What a brilliant lie the devil sells us and we blindly buy into.

I have bought this very lie.

I speak from personal experience.

And I can ignore this all.

I can go and buy a Lion charm and call it a day...and tell the Lord, "If you need me to do something with all of this, sorry, but...you know how busy I am...I mean my life is kind of a train wreck right now...so just let me get things in place and people safe and settled and then...then we can re-visit this Lion nonsense"....OR...I can sit with this...wrestle with these images and tunes and ideas...and I can find the still and quiet time and humbly and openly ask the Lord, "Is there something I am supposed to do with all of this?"

Of course, because my life IS a train wreck...He said YES.

And I am excited. I am not planning something huge or something that will even require a ton of work. The work is done. The work is the idea that I acknowledged and spoke out loud and shared with a friend who, bless her heart, is fully on board. And the vision here? A casual get together of women - mamas and grandmamas and anyone who is loving and caring for a child who might be lost, broken, in the dark, dealing with illness - who needs support, friendship, possibly a glass of wine or two or a strong cup of coffee and a solid, no judgement "me too"...with no real agenda, no homework, no registration fee, nothing required what so ever...other than a heart that is broken and the desire to pray with other women. A circle of Lioness women...Saint Monica Mamas...who simply need to get away for a couple of hours, be with other women, eat something that is not homemade but store bought because that is easier...and through tears and laughter, I am sure...because laughter is important...simply pray together. With our wine. Or coffee. Or whatever makes you feel like an adult and special.

Because I can name at least five women I have said, "We need to grab coffee" to...and we never do.

Because I can name at least ten mamas who are in the REAL trenches. Not the trenches we thought we were in when our babies were teething and not crawling when the baby books said they should be crawling.

I mean REAL LIFE TRENCHES.

The sun is now up and so are the kids and I just heard my husband say to the dog, "You smell the pork, don't you?"....so looks like the quiet is done and it is time for the workday to begin. Because you know, when the dog smells the pork...who knows what can happen next.

Today, pay attention to your ideas...

don't write anything off as a coincidence.

Look for the hand of God in your everyday life.

Hear what the Spirit is whispering to you.

Then grab hold of these things, and bring them to the Lord first...

ask if this is coming from Him....

then,

speak them out loud...

share them with a friend...

watch that seed grow.

And if there is the time, shave your legs.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page