top of page

you were made for more. But more of what?


We hear this message a lot.

YOU WERE MADE FOR MORE.

And this is good.

This is truth.

We ought to hear this message and not just hear, but ponder.

Because I mean, really. What does it even mean?

Made for more of what?

After a lifetime of devouring every self-help book known to man kind, that MORE I was made for meant my very best self. The absolute version of who I was meant to be.

But here is the problem with that.

What exactly IS my best self?

And what if I have no clue as to what I am meant to be?

There are many popular public figures who shout this message out, looking so pretty and put together while they do it...but what I have found is that this MORE that they point me to is not enough.

Chasing my dream, adding a workout plan to my day, and making myself my number one priority? Is that really the best answer to that MORE we desire? Because I tried all of that once. Every single one. And I ended up depressed when my dream failed, obsessed with my weight and immersed in an eating disorder, and incredibly selfish. Selfish to the point of nearly throwing away my marriage because well...it just wasn't feeling like enough for me.

Good grief.

Can we please stop listening to the world and it's perception of who we are meant to be, and instead, listen to God, the One who kind of made us and knows everything...and listen to what HE has to say about what we are meant to be?

Author Lisa Brenninkmeyer writes, "Make no mistake - just because you receive the world's applause doesn't mean you've made the right choices."

And how many times have I fallen for this? How many times have I gobbled up and devoured a Hollywood version of a god that has all of the answers to the blank pages of my life, because everyone else was praising them for their incredible works? It is an easy trap. An easy choice. But the easy choice, I have discovered, is usually the wrong choice.

The right choice is going to always be Jesus.

Jesus, and a relationship with Him.

HE knows you were made for more, and He IS the more.

The best version of you? That is the version that, before she chases her dream, before she works out, before she walks out of her front door to conquer the world...humbly sits at the feet of Jesus and asks, "Lord, show me how I can know you more...so that you can reveal to me the MORE I am to you."

If you feel like your life is never enough....that what you do and are is never enough...if you feel like you were made for more, but the worlds buffet of suggestions to being that MORE are leaving you empty and unfulfilled...seek out a relationship with Jesus. Is Jesus the easy choice?

Nope. But is He the better choice? Yup. And not just the better, but the only.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Do you want to give a relationship with Jesus a try, but because He is invisible and not someone you can actually take out to Chipotle or Starbucks to get to know, have no idea where to begin? I hear ya. But it is not as difficult as it sounds! Go back to Mass, read one Gospel story today, find a Bible Study that meets you where you are and focuses on relationship with Jesus. And if you live near Saint Rose of Lima in Newtown, CT, and can get out the door by 9:30am, come and join me at my Walking With Purpose at 10am...today we are discussing just this...and I would love to sit with you! No need to register, no need to buy anything, no need to bring anything! Just come. The coffee is already brewing....and you are always welcome!!!

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page