top of page

I hate Halloween, the last day for the Victorious Secret GIVEAWAY, and can I just say one more time


I definitely came to the "dress your kid up as a Saint for Halloween" party way too late. And it is too bad, because secretly? I hate Halloween. And why I say secretly is a mystery because it is not a secret and if it were a secret, well, wouldn't that just be the dumbest secret ever? I have way better secrets than that.

But yes. Halloween? Not. A. Fan.

From the scary to the gore to the walking in the dark and bag carrying and people...all those people...and the stress, yes, stress....over the costume, and who you trick or treat with, and will you be the one who gets the apple with the razor blade in it...and then when you finally get home and wash your kids make up off, they sit on the floor with all that candy...as you say, "Don't eat it now! Time for bed!" And they cry and cry so you say, "Go ahead and eat it! You are going to be sick! I warned you!" then they go to bed and they wake up crying and not because they are sick, because they aren't, so your threat was completely empty, but they cry because they are exhausted and there was all that sugar and now you have to hide their candy bag and they go off to school and at about 1PM when you start to wonder what your purpose in life is and why you were born and when will God answer that one prayer, you eat all of their Snickers and maybe the Butterfinger too and then wash it down with a handful of candy corn....and then you hate yourself for eating your kids candy, so you keep on eating it, because you are drunk on chocolate and are in deep need of an intervention or stomach pumping or simply a friend to grab your hand and pull it out of the bag, because good grief, Scripture is right, the flesh is weak people! The flesh is weak!

That is why I not secretly hate Halloween.

I do, however, enjoy thinking about what my family could dress up as...I like a good theme...and every year I shout out brilliant ideas for our costumes...and then....well...that is as far as it goes.

This year we did nothing Halloween-ish.

No carving. (so much mess)

No painting pumpkins. (so much mess)

No baking spooky cupcakes. (so much mess)

And I feel pretty good about this.

You know. I did all of this stuff. When they were little. I baked and sewed, and painted and decorated and trick or treated in all sorts of weather conditions, and well...I am tired. And you know what else I am? SCARED. I am frightened. Of everything. I don't need a day to celebrate fear. The world is scary enough, thank you very much.

So yeah. Wish my reversion back to my Catholic faith happened when my kids were small....because celebrating the Saints? I am so on board. And praying for the dead? That I can do! I suggested to my youngest who is bigger than I am and growing facial hair that he dress like Saint Michael this year...I even pushed the whole sword thing. Made it sound really manly and dangerous. It didn't go over too well. But this is a kid who dressed up as a business rooster last year. So I am not surprised in the least.

In other news, today is the last day of the Victorious Secret Tour GIVEAWAY! If you have not entered, go on and follow me on IG (laura_m_phelps), tag every person you have ever known, repost my post, and then say a prayer for me. I added the prayer part. It is not a part of the giveaway, really, but I am feeling like I need prayers.

And prayers for you, too, for a safe Halloween, and the strength to walk away from your kids candy bag before doing something you seriously and deeply regret.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page