top of page

this year...


Unrealistic expectations, too many goals, and mistaking time spent in ministry for time spent with Jesus, all in the name of holiness, is something I fall into effortlessly. Seriously. If only putting away the laundry, cleaning the kitchen floor, writing a book, washing the bed sheets, and meal planning would come as easily.

You hit me hard with some serious spiritual lessons, 2019, and I am pleased to report that I am walking confidently into the new decade sporting some new shiny armor and a brand new battle plan.

This year?

I am letting God lead.

I am putting my priorities back in order.

Yes, God first.

But GOD is not the same as ministry.

You can work in ministry and be very far from the Lord.

Working for God and loving God are two very different things.

And I want to love Him more than I work for Him.

This year?

After God, comes my marriage.

Not the children.

And maybe that sounds harsh, but it's the truth.

I spent the year thinking I was the Good Shepherd...

leaving the flock to rescue the one.

And honestly?

This doesn't work when you are not Jesus.

Trust me. Leave the 99 for one and you know what happens?

The 99 either resent you or get lost because they believe you will only make time for what is lost.

True story.

Leaving the flock to find the one does not make you holy.

The enemy is good at making me think that I am acting out of holiness...that my mission is from God...but putting your children's needs before your spouse's, and allowing one lamb to drag everyone down, is not God's plan.

And this is no surprise to me.

The devil has been after my marriage since forever...after my family forever...

which excites me actually, because it can only mean that God has awesome plans for us.

This year?

I am renewing my mind.

Holding every thought captive.

Thinking about what is true.

I am also getting a haircut.

Which has nothing to do with holiness.

We can tackle vanity in 2021.

Remember. It's my year of few goals.

Today I began reading the Bible in a year...well, actually, I started reading the Bible in a year five years ago. Baby steps, folks. Anyway, I started again yesterday, and yes, I should have started on the first of January, but I am a rule breaker like that. Slowly meditating on Scripture, putting myself in the story, and simply being with God is what this year is about. At least it is so far. Check back in with me in March. Want to join me? This would be way more fun to do together! I am using this reading schedule.

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page