top of page

why do I always have to go first?


New blog post up over at the Walking With Purpose website!

If you have ever struggled with this thought, I offer a simple piece of practical advice that has helped me, and hopefully, can help you, too.

In other news... I have been trying really hard to listen to the Lord...where He wants me to be and to go and what the heck I am supposed to be doing...I am an over thinker, by the way. Any other over thinkers out there? Turning my brain off feels next to impossible. I must drive God nuts. SO MANY VOICES in my head.

That said...the Victorious Secret Monday morning book club was like a bucket of wisdom poured onto my head....seriously...these women, (in every VSBC group) many of them strangers, are now true friends to me and I pray that they are learning as much as I am. Love how God weaves stories together, don't you? Yesterday we all walked away resolving to spend 20 (or 10, or 5...baby steps, people) minutes simply sitting in God's presence. That is it. No talking. No requests. Just the silence with Him. And so I was struck with today's first reading from the second book of Kings..."he prayed in the Lord's presence."

Why not try this with us? Praying in the Lord's presence. Coming before Him and just being with Him. If you struggle with the thought of "why do I always go first"...bring this to the table...spread it out before the Lord, like Hezekiah does with the letter from the King of Assyria...spread out whatever mess or sin or trial or burden or sorrow is on your heart...and be in God's presence.

I can share this...that by "being" more and "doing" less...while it was scary to let go of some things I have been holding on tight to, it was in the releasing that I was able to hear...it was in the letting go that I made the space to feel a nudge ...and I am not only at peace...but so excited!! I talk about it here, and I am confident that the Blessed Mother has her beautiful hands all over this! I pray you will consider joining me !!!

"He alone has immortality, who dwells in unapproachable light, and whom no human being has seen or can see." (cf. 1Tim 6:16)

RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page