top of page

airport thoughts and updates




Every time I turn around, I am at the airport or checking into my flight. It's been quite the year of travel, which I am incredibly grateful for...but also...looking forward to hanging up the "speaker hat" for the summer. It's a lot, you know, for me and for my family. The break will be good for all of us.


But we are not there yet. As I write this, I am at the airport waiting to board my flight to Baltimore. Tonight I have the great privilege of being with the very first-ever WWP Parish program! Tomorrow morning I will head to Virginia for the WWP Flourish retreat. If you recall, this retreat was canceled three years ago, and so the excitement, gratitude, and emotion are right there. If you are planning on attending, please be sure to find me and say hello!


You may have noticed (but probably not, as you've got better things to do than sit and stare at my website) that things look a little different in this space. Patreon is gone. Facebook is gone, and Instagram is gone. This is not a technical malfunction. I removed it all from this site and ....my life. For good. My Lenten practices of detachment from all things took me on quite the ride. The more I removed things, the more I wanted to remove things because the more I saw how I addicted I was to these things. The forty-day break has turned into a forever situation. Which is kind of the point, right?


Of course, whenever you remove something you are addicted to, you find a new addiction to put in its place. Currently. I am creating wishlists on my favorite clothing sites. So far it proves harmless to my wallet and spiritual life and is not nearly the time-suck that all those dog reels were. I'll keep you posted.


Oh. I also stepped into a new role/job. (insert cheering and celebrating, and feel free to pour yourself a glass of champagne to celebrate.)


Starting this month, I officially became a part of the Walking With Purpose Team as a Content Creator Manager, and I am super excited and happy to be BACK HOME. It feels so good to be a part of a crew that is mission-focused. After years of putting out my own content and managing my own speaking, I started to feel that influencer temptation. I was slowly becoming platform focused. This is the opposite of what I have been called to do and become. As soon as I deleted the accounts and signed on to work with a team, I felt immediate peace. Thank you, Jesus, for the courage to cut out what the world convinced me I needed.


You can stay alive without social media, in case you are curious.


There were a few patrons who were sad to see the Patreon site go. This was the hardest decision and was not made without a great deal of prayer. We had created a beautiful community, and some feared not being able to "follow me" anymore. But here is the deal- I am not dead...yet...and if you want to find me, just head on over to Walking With Purpose. I will be writing and speaking and doing all the things I have been doing, plus more! (and better, dare I say) Also, the only One any of us should be following is Jesus.


As for this blog...well...as you know, I am not so great at managing it. I write once every two years, maybe twice. I'm giving myself until the Fall (when I renew my wix subscription) to figure out the best move. For the most part, it's a place for me to share my speaking calendar, talk topics, and books, which you can now do over at the Walking With Purpose website!


Okay, my friends...it's almost time to board my flight. I am nearing the last leg of this incredible speaking race and all I can say is Praise God and to HIM all the glory! Come May 21st, it's nothing but family, dog walks, iced coffee on the deck with my laptop, and a SUPER exciting project in the works...stay tuned!


And oh..Happy Easter!







RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page