top of page

FREE ADVENT GIFT WITH PURCHASE

I don't love Advent. But let me explain.



The season of joyful waiting and holy expectation has been hijacked by personal circumstances I THOUGHT I could control (or at least fix with my love) for many, many years. And so when that first snowflake falls, and that first bell jingles, while most people feel an excitement building, with the desire to shop, wrap and bake all things gingerbread and cranberry, I feel nothing but intense anxiety and dread building, and my only desire is to fall into a deep sleep and wake up when it is all over. Or never. Whichever God decides comes first.


This Advent, I am doing my best to stay present to the incredible gift that is going to be born precisely for this mess of a situation that for too long I have tried to pray away. To remain in a state of peace, I am digging deep folks. I am carving out quiet, increasing my prayer, and putting a stop to the "mindless scroll" (I mean really. Why do we waste time looking at what other people are doing, eating, wearing, and thinking?). I am not worrying about the secular stuff that looks so good on Instagram but truly, does nothing for the soul. I am not going to project what might happen, and focus on what I know will happen: God will take on flesh and come to us as a baby, and one day He will even die for all of us so that this hideous hell we might find ourselves living in (maybe because of our sins, or maybe because of someone else's sins) will be completely wiped away and like a vapor, it will disappear and not matter at all because of the chance we now have at eternity in Heaven with our Savior!


THIS is something that I can get into.


Taking the pressure off to do all the things that everyone else enjoys this time of year has afforded me so much peace. Especially the "cut back on the gifts and shopping". Christmas shopping sounds great in theory. If the malls were not full of people and the Starbucks line not so long and the stores super hot but the walk to the car freezing and the prices on the things you want to buy clearly didn't consider your personal bank account...well...then perhaps, the shopping would be fun. But maybe it is because I am older...but I can not shop now without seeing what other people are buying and instantaneously lose my appetite for material things. I look in carts and bags and think to myself, "Why do you need that?" Or "who wants that?" or "You do know that everything in your cart will be in a goodwill bag next year, don't you?"


But gifts can be fun. Gifts can be thoughtful. Gifts can be such a lovely way to thank people, family, and friends for simply being your people, family, and friends.


After quiet prayer one morning, I had a thought. (Thank you, Holy Spirit) If I am going to gift people this year, I am going to give gifts with purpose. I want to gift people with things that will help them where they are at. Gifts that will introduce them to Jesus, or bring them closer to Him. Gifts that will stretch their hearts, increase their faith, offer hope, and help them be holy. What kind of gift might this be? You guessed it.

A BOOK.



So maybe because I am a writer I have this opinion, but seriously...there is no better gift than a book. Words are so powerful and books change lives and could you imagine a world without stories?


In the next few days, I would like to share with you a small handful of books that you might not be aware of (SO MANY good Catholic Authors out there that honestly do not get enough attention and so I am doing something about it!) In addition to sharing these amazing Authors, I want to start this season off by offering you a special FREE GIFT with the purchase of my own book, Sweet Cross! (did you hear? It was mentioned as Michelle's "one good thing" on the Abiding Together Podcast!? Not too shabby!) Order a signed copy of Sweet Cross- a best seller on Amazon and at the OSV Bookstore- here and you will receive a FREE SIMPLE SAINT PRINT from the amazing Jaimee Keogler at The Simple Saints!!!! (0ffer good up until 12/24) Just a little thank you from me to you and my small but mighty step out of the Advent dread I have been in for far too long. Your purchase and my gift to you are simple actions that will help me to embrace the TRUE joy of the season!



God bless you and thank you all for being my greatest champions and supporters. Your prayers have carried me over more obstacles than you could ever know.


A blessed Advent to everyone! And stay tuned for the BEST list of books to buy and gift your loved ones with this Christmas!



RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page