top of page

that time I hid in my closet (I say as if I have only hidden in my closet once...)

I hid in my closet yesterday. True story.


When I get completely overwhelmed by my sorrow, all I want to do is hide. Get small. Curl up. Bury. Is this strange? It is such a strong pull, and hard to explain. I actually dig deep into my closet so that the clothes - skirts and summer dresses - hang over me. I feel covered. And then I play a song..usually COME OUT OF HIDING, which I suppose is ironic. And then...I cry.


And really, I think, that is all that is needed.


"Let me mingle tears with thee,

mourning Him who mourned for me,

all the days that I may live."


I have been meditating on the Stabat Mater this Lent. And I won't get into now because Saturday morning chores are calling to me...but let me just say, if you, too, ever feel like hiding from your suffering, standing with Mary is never a bad idea.



RECENT POSTS
ORDER MY BOOK
ARCHIVE
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
bottom of page